tgznyc

Distinguished
Aug 21, 2008
Hey guys,

I just built a new system and have some extra money left over so I'm thinking about trying one of the 10k raptors. I currently have a 640g hd running Vista 64 on it.

I would like to run Vista and my games on the Raptor, and use my 640gig for music and files.

When I get the Raptor do I have to format my 640gig and install Vista on it? Or can I transfer my OS and games on the raptor, and leave everything else on the 640?

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I'm still learning.

Thanks for your time.

tgznyc

Distinguished
Aug 21, 2008
Alright so I'll reofrmat this 640 then install the raptor and my OS & games. How do I go about using my 640 just for files. Obviously I'll see it as a drive in 'My Computer' but will I be able to save apps and programs I dont use often in there and be able to access them easily? Like can I make an E:/Program Files/ and install some apps that I don't use often? Or would I only use it for storing music. I'm not really sure what else I would store in there, can you guys give me ideas?

mford66215

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2007
The new drive will take the next available drive letter. From there it's up to you - install new programs to it, drag music down to it, whatever you put there.

If you install a program on C:\newstuff or D:\newstuff the only issue is whether or not the development team was stupid and used hardcoded locations - which is pretty rare.

dokk2

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2007

the procedure that i use for moving to a second hdd without reinstalling is this,,,
1,using norton ghost,make a ghost of the current c: drive,store it in the primary hdd,
on a different partition,of course.
2,mount by itself,fdisk and format the 2nd hdd,if you fdisk from dos,you can format ,quick, from windoze,
3,copy ghost to second hdd.i have a small partition,about 4g just for ghosts,and one for the swapfile,
4,install 2nd hdd by itself,restore partition using ghost,