New Build Won't Power - PLEASE HELP

dave8624

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2006
Ok, so I'm a noob to new builds. I usually buy barebones systems, that have the psu and mobo already installed. But I thought wtf and I gave this a shot. I plugged in everything, no sata connectors yet, just wanted to see if I was geting power. But nothing. Shouldn't the psu at least give a sign of life when I turn to i/o switch in the back on the machine, regardless of the front power switch? I've tried moving the power switch cable, that runs from the front of the case, thinking maybe its put in wrong, (doesn't show what is positive or negative, wierd)

I'm gonna try unplugging everything and just have the atx and 4pin cpu plugged in.

Here are the specs:

Antec P180
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610
Intel e6750
4x1gb Samsung DDR2-800
Sapphire Ati 850xt
74gb raptor
400gb Seagate

Please help.

dave8624

Distinguished
Nov 25, 2006
Ok, just plugging in the 4 pin and atx didn't work. I double checked to make sure the power switch was plugged in correctly. Which I know it has to be unless I'm a complete idiot :p (the little arrow means positive right. I'm gonna go and get a PSU tester tomorrow and see if its that. Any other ideas. HELP.

BankHead

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2007
Well... perhaps your missing cpu, ram, and video card??? It won't power up without these. (well you can trick the psu by shorting a pin but really not recommended) If this is not the case then check the 115v-230v switch on back of psu is set correctly(115v). Your psu is most likely fine. The case switch is just off/on, no positive or neg to worry about, just put the arrow as pin 1 if its marked if not don't worry about it. If your system is complete make sure cpu, ram, and video card, installed correctly

ps dont trust me im on crack

djlazlow

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2007
Here's the checklist (according to my experience) of what you need to power on a system: