Sign in with
Your question

SATA or IDE

Last response: in Storage
September 16, 2008 10:21:17 AM

Alright,

My burner has just packed up, don;t ask me why, think it has something to do with my mate spilling beer on it, lol.

Anyways, I am currently looking into getting a new one. Im thinking that Asus or LG are the way to go as they seem to produce the best quality DVD-RW drives for a good price :) 

Im just looking for some advice really. I assume that your gonna get faster data transfer with a SATA drive compared to an IDE one. It seems that SATA drives have similar read and write speed to IDE drives, but for less money. Was just wondering what you guys thought? What is the benefit of SATA and how does it improve on IDE? At the moment my CD drive is slave to my primary HDD. Will it be a problem if my HDD has no slave? I am new to all this and confused so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

More about : sata ide

a b G Storage
September 16, 2008 2:21:03 PM

Speed should be the same either way - neither should be capable of saturating the interface. The real benefit is not needing the huge PATA cable (which will work fine with no slave, btw).
Related resources
September 16, 2008 2:41:21 PM

ahha thanks a lot!! so i take it IDE, ATA and PATA are esentially the same thing? :) 
a b G Storage
September 16, 2008 2:52:08 PM

IDE=PATA.
ATA=PATA or SATA.
September 16, 2008 3:07:15 PM

evongugg said:
Your hard disk will work faster without the PATA DVD drive.

The big benefit on speed you'll get is from putting the signal on a different controller. Your system won't have to wait for the slowest device on the cable to respond before going back for more data, etc....

September 16, 2008 3:29:35 PM

sorry i dont really understand? Care to elaborate.....
a b G Storage
September 17, 2008 3:37:02 PM