1.12gig of ram? WTF? SLI!!!! *shakes stick*

I recently upgraded from a TERIBLE 7900gt (1 card) to an 8600GT x 2 SLI setup.

The 7900 had serious overheating issues, and I love my new cards, but unfortunately now, windows says I have 1.12 gigs of ram, when the bios states 2 gigs (as it should.)

This is the only hardware change I've done, and I tried moving the ram around to different slots (thanks p5n32-sli-crapmb) and it still shows 2 gigs. Is this normal? I've never used SLI before and I'm kinda sad that with World of Warcraft running, I now have to wait for stuff to swap around when I start IE or something of that nature. Anyone have any insight? I'm at the point that a E6750 w/ new MB/Ram is looking like my only out!!!

Thanks!
-PimpSmurf
40 answers Last reply
More about 12gig shakes stick
  1. Putting 8600GT's in SLI was a crappy idea to begin with.

Try using CPU-Z to see what it says about your RAM.
  2. Take one 8600 GT out and see whether your system goes back to 2gb ram. If not something may have been damaged in the installation.

metrazol said:
    Putting 8600GT's in SLI was a crappy idea to begin with.

Try using CPU-Z to see what it says about your RAM.

yup its amazing what a little bit of marketing will convince people to part with their $$ for. One good card is always better than 2 average ones.
  3. wow, this is the second time in a few weeks soeone has told/done something like this, a aquaintance was trying to tell me that his 7800gtx was worse than his 8600M, i swear, sorry mate, but that lag you are seeing in wow is'nt from the lack fo ram but probably from the inferir cards, the ram just highlights it, stick you old 7900gt back in and makesure you ahve airflow and clean fan and the fan works...
  4. MikosNZ said:

yup its amazing what a little bit of marketing will convince people to part with their $$ for. One good card is always better than 2 average ones.