Sign in with
Your question

OC'ing Q6600 makes cpuz speed crazy!?

Last response: in Overclocking
April 23, 2008 8:55:29 PM

Hi everyone! I'm a newb to overclocking in general, but i've read a couple guides focusing on the q6600 and this thread for the ga-p35ds3r, which I am using together.

Anyway...I just got this, (q6600-g0 + ds3r rev2.0 w/default bios) setup recently and wanted to go with a conservative OC of 3.0-3.2ghz. I've followed the recommendations on this thread and others for a safe OC. Everything looks good upon bootup which shows "3.0" in the post test, and in the BIOS, it reflects this as well....
However when I get to windows and run cpuz...The core speed and multiplier jump around wildly. It goes from showing 3.0ghz, 9x multi to 1.66 ghz 6x multi. ?!? :sweat: 

It's not a momentary hiccup or anything. It can stay down in the 1.6's for about 10-15 seconds and jump back to 3.0ghz. What gives? FSB is 333 I believe (whatever is normal for hitting 3.0ghz). My vcore is just slightly under stock (I was told 3.0 can totally handle slight undervolt from stock), and my ram is set to 5-5-5-15, 800mhz 1:1 synchronous mode.

Any ideas why this is happening? Everything is stable and I don't get any crashes running normal windows apps/crysis/benchmarks. Thanks for the support!
April 23, 2008 9:02:53 PM

Bonovox400 said:
Hi everyone! I'm a newb to overclocking in general, but i've read a couple guides focusing on the q6600 and this thread for the ga-p35ds3r, which I am using together.

Anyway...I just got this, (q6600-g0 + ds3r rev2.0 w/default bios) setup recently and wanted to go with a conservative OC of 3.0-3.2ghz. I've followed the recommendations on this thread and others for a safe OC. Everything looks good upon bootup which shows "3.0" in the post test, and in the BIOS, it reflects this as well....