Custom Build Buisness good or bad idea?

rayzor

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2004
I am thinking about advertising around my neighborhood in the attempt to make a little money off custom computer builds. I am a college student and have a car here on campus and live within half an hour of my neighborhood, so I'll be able to provide support for at least a couple years.

That said, I'm not what you'd call a true professional, though I know I am fully capable of building rock stable systems. Do you think it's a good idea for me to go ahead with this? I don't see any reasons for concern, but when we are talking thousands of dollars some people spend on their systems, I don't want to overlook anything that could get me in trouble or sour the good relationships I have with my neighbors.

Do any of you have any personal experience to share, specifically relating to issues I should take into consideration?

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006
Make sure you get the money for the parts up front, they can pay for labor when it's delivered. The biggest issue to think out is support. This can get pretty time consuming. I'd limit support to 6 months or at most a year. You can guarantee the parts for the mfg warranty. If you install Windows, you're likely to get a lot of questions on programs, etc., and this is what can be time consuming. I guess one issue is how to say, "It ain't my problem" in a way you don't alienate a customer, get a bad rep, or get the crap beat out of you.

rayzor

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2004
ok, thanks. I hadn't considered the software side of things much. I'm guessing I would get lots of calls from people complaining about not being able to install this or not being able to download that. Some people just don't understand that these are not physical problems.

g-paw

Splendid
Jan 31, 2006