Sign in with
Your question

Having problems with stability for 6400X2 @ 3.5ghz

Last response: in Overclocking
May 2, 2008 7:31:29 AM

ok. long story short. i've been reading numerous guides as to oveclocking A64 cpu so I decide to give it a shot.

Basically, the 6400x2 BE cpu is 3200mhz stock with 16x multiplier.
I decide to run 219 fsb x 16 to acheive 3500. I was able to do so @ 1.488volts and a slight bump in the NB and HT. I decided to slow the ram down to 5-5-5-15 @ 2.075v but still keeping it at 800mhz.

Basically the computer boots fine and I am even able to play cod4 for a bit until it freezes. Basically there will be some screen glitch and than the game will close. I tried running orthos and was only able to run for 4minutes before theres an error. I cant seem to put my finger on why I cant get it stable.

In terms of cooling, I have a coolermaster 212 (which ranks very well). My CPU OC@3.5 will hit 60C on full load. It will hit 52C on full load at 3.2 (stock) (using Coretemp to monitor temp - dfi's temp monitor will report 3-5C lower). I have sufficient fans and ventilation is very good.

I have a very reputable OCer MOBO which is from DFI LP 790fx M2RS. Now it only came with a passive NB heatsink so I added a 40mm fan to it.

My ram are crucial ballistix 800mhz ddr2 which are very good according to reviews.

Any suggestions? I can take pictures of my bios settings since theres a million things in there (thanks to DFI great OC support).
May 2, 2008 7:34:55 AM

Btw- I have tried different fsb/multiplier combinations with the same result...error on orthos after a few minutes. Some ie. that I have tried:

14x250
13.5x259
13x269
etc.
With higher fsb, I decrease my ram to DDR667 to compensate and also the HT speed.

Could it be a bad chip?
May 2, 2008 8:14:46 AM