Sign in with
Your question

Overclocking q6600@3.0Ghz CPU Temp 68c on load ok?

Last response: in Overclocking
May 3, 2008 11:21:54 AM

Hello

I am new to overclocking, today i have overclocked my q6600 CPU@3.0Ghz with the stock cooler and after Stressing the CPU on full load for 3+ hours core temp has reported that core#0 has gone up to 68c, but average on load it will stay on 66c, on idle the CPU will stay on 40c, I am tight on budget but i don't want to burn the CPU, do i really need an after market cooler or can i stay with this one?

Ambient temperature is: 26c

Core voltage is: 1.3v (System is very stable with this voltage, had no blue screens or reboots so far)

Any help is appreciated

Cliffton
a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
May 3, 2008 11:36:02 AM

That's pretty good asuming those temps are for very heavy load (such as using prime95). If that's for normal load (games etc) then it's a little high even for the stock cooler. It's well within safe limits either way, you could run that for years 24/7 no problem. If you were pushing 85C+ then you have a possible lifespan problem.
May 3, 2008 11:57:57 AM

I was using BurnInTest and CPU Stress was 100%, so its a very heavy load, I found that BurnInTest do heaver tests then prime95, Im a Computer Technician and i always use BurnInTest to test the hardware, anyway back to the subject, so 40c on idle and 68c (MAX on core#0) on heavy load is ok? it is money wise to invest in a cooler or should i stay with the stock?
Related resources
May 3, 2008 12:52:37 PM

I have AC turned on 24 hours/Day during summer @ 26c so Ambient temperature will always be the same, i need more opinions what they think on q6600 @ 66c on heavy Load (68c was max on Core#0 according to core temp)
May 3, 2008 1:17:30 PM