cmashwin

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2007
Hi,
I just got these Corsair ram, (ddr2-800 @ 4-4-4-12) And I saw this label saying "epp ram"... When I googled it, it said these rams could run at 7-7-7-15 at DDR2-1066 speeds... How do I set this up?? Is it in the BIOS?? Cos I remember seeing something like, "EPP profiles" ... Is there something preconfigured for these rams??? How and where do I go about hitting DDR2-1066 speeds??? Please help me.. I am a total noob.

mford66215

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2007
EPP ram has to be matched with an epp compliant motherboard in order for anything to happen. Supposed be able to chose >insane speeds at that point.

For more information, somebody who REALLY knows an answer will be with you soon.

righteous

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2006
It's not important at all.

just some pre-made profiles for the system to use to automatically set up the processor and memory speeds/timings at a "high performance" level.

You can do all the stuff EPP does manually, so it's not really justification to pay extra for EPP if you know what you're doing.
I have these profiles in my RAM but I used my own settings instead.

cmashwin

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2007
Can u suggest me some?? FYI, i am on P5K-C.. The original timings say 4-4-4-12.. but thats at DDR2-800 and they work fine at those speeds.. Also I am using Q6600.. If that makes a diff..
Will this ram ever work at DDR2-1066?? Please help.. And thank you for your input :)

cmashwin

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2007
@righteous...
dude.. but the damn thing refuses to boot up at manual settings!!! I set it at the 7-7-7-15.. even 8-8-8-21 setting.. but it still crashes... I can only get up to 833 speeds... any help would be appreciated..

cmashwin

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2007
On a slightly off-topic, do u guys seriously think "all" q6600's can run 3.6ghz?? I have a tough time running mine at 3.2... And thats at 3.5v.. What am i doing wrong?

righteous

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2006

it's got to be the voltage.