AMD 5200+ Limitations?

VulcanX

Distinguished
May 6, 2008
Hey guys im new at Toms Hardware forums but keep up to date on their news on the articles etc and want to extend my thanks for it, you guys are doing a wicked good job on the UK and US side of things and completely impress me with any articles or reviews.
But to cut to the real issue, i have a 5200+ Windsor 2 x 1Mb L2 cache, im pretty jacked up when it comes to understanding what happens and why, but i want to know why you drop the multiplier down and increase the frequency?
Besides that fact, im running an Asus M2N SLI DLX, 2 Gb DDR2 800 XMS2 Corsair RAM, and 8600 GTS XFX 256Mb card, my temps are crazy low, motherboard is at 26, CPU is at 30-32 idle ( celcius ), and GPU is high at 44, thats my only real concern, even my hdd(400 Gig Seagate Barracuda) Sata2 is at 30, even when its been running, my temps are all decent to overclock, but i wana know what capabilities my pc has, and i need it to beat a C2D of a friend, i need help to beat it bad! plz, i know i got better hardware esp board and ram, just need assistance to get there, who can point me in the directions i wana go, or give me links even how to overlock for NEWBS or summin,everyone has to start sumwhere and im trying to start off here
Thanks again for any help

p4killer

Distinguished
Sep 21, 2008
LAWL well the reason for drooping the multi is to allow to use higher FSB freq's which will allow you to either run your memory at higher speeds using a 1:1 divider still or give you some play with gettig each of your main components to your goal speeds.

for example lets say your target cpu speed is 2.7ghz or 2700mhz

lets also say that your cpu is a non black edition which means that the multi is upper locked-- or you can lower the multi but not raise the multi.

for this example lets say ur using and old school 3800+ with a defualt multi of 10x which is also its max multi (the default is ussually the highest you can have)