Sign in with
Your question

AGP upgrade worth it?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 14, 2007 6:53:23 PM

Last year I built a new system and gave my older system to my brother. It is an HP P4 2.6 GHz system with a 7600GS AGP in it. It has been fine for playing WoW, but now my brother wants to play UT3 and some other newer stuff, and he told me that the system spontaneously reboots on him after a few minutes of playing those games. I am guessing that the problem is caused by a combination of weak video card and weak power supply, but I am no expert.

So I was thinking of getting him an upgrade for a Xmas present, but is it worth dumping more money in an obsolete AGP system? AGP cards are not terribly plentiful. A 7900GS AGP and a new power supply are going to run over $200. For $350-$400, I could get him a new mobo, dual-core processor, faster memory, and a PCIE card. But that's pushing the budget at the moment. So the options are either upgrade the AGP card now, or wait a while and be happy leveling up yet another toon in WoW.

Thoughts?

More about : agp upgrade worth

December 14, 2007 7:11:38 PM

You can get an AGP X1950 PRO for cheaper than $200, and it's faster than the 7900 GS... but I wouldn't pair it with a 2.6 Ghz P4. I'd pair it with an Athlon64 maybe, but not a P4 unless it was over 3 Ghz.

He'll get alot more mileage out of a new system. Hold off.
December 14, 2007 7:44:52 PM

the 7600 is not a weak card. and the p42.6 eventhough its older, but still can handle the game your talking about. you'll just have to lower all the setting to lowest and gradually up them til you find the proper setting. also, a new ati x1950 pro would definetly play the games you want on highest settings. agp is not dead. you can get alot more years out of that system.

http://www.nzone.com/object/nzone_ut3_home.html

nvidia site has a recommeded card 8 series,and not 8800 card, might be because its also a dx10+ game along with dx9.