Sign in with
Your question

ANOTHER 1st timer build!!! TIA

Last response: in Systems
December 10, 2007 1:24:16 AM

I asked this over here;

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/245971-30-tomshardwar...

...but near the end of my rambling, I asked that maybe I should post my concerns in a different topic area and sure enuf, here I am... So I have copied and pasted my thoughts in this post!!! I have missed these kind of forums, but hey just like the "prodigal son", I am back... lol
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:hello:  NEWbie here.. Well, I just have not kept up to date since PII My qualifacations go as high as p166 48mbRAM with either 95a and 98se. I have seen the changes, but no indepth research and or playing around with anything later!

I reached this thread through the "How to build" section here at Tom's... At least I think there was a link over there to here. But anyway, while trying to figure out componets to piece together i have asked around at a few shops here in town. I also asked about the x38 vs.P35... I was sorta steered away! I will elaborate more l8r..

My needs are as follows;
**SPEED for file transfers either copy or from the internet re; music dwnlds to mp3 plyrs or to the HDD, watching vids on the net and transfering vids over the net (skydiving videos)
**VIDEO editing and digi photos (I have a MINI DV cam with still pic taking capabilities that I NEED to be able to transfer from to DVD instead of VHS... duh)
**DSL for internet connection (again a SPEED thing)
**STORAGE (perhaps a few biggie HDD 250gb+ each)
**minimal gaming and office type programs
** but do NEED a GREAT to EXCELLENT video/pic editing software program

I think that pretty much does it..

Does this setup sound right;
*Intel 775 E2160 1800 1M
*1775 Evga NF75-K1
*DDR2 6400 1024Mx2 Pa
*580w AGI U580UB
*SATA 500g 7200 WD Ks (do I want a smaller HDD for the OS/primary with the listed 500g as a SLAVE/storage?)
*DVD Lite 20x LS