Sign in with
Your question

Death of Windows XP SP3

Last response: in Windows XP
May 12, 2010 1:50:11 PM

I am the IT of a non-profit( I'm a baby admin). I need to know what the date is MS will stop doling out secutiry updates for Windows XP SP3. I Have read serveral different reports on MS actual site. I Read one version stopped geting security updates last month, another that sp2 will go bye-bye in July... then if u look at the charts ect it says that MS only provides updates for 2y after that particular serice pack was released and finally that MS extended the security updates for SP3 until 2014...
If our DB guys had their way we'd still be running office 2000 on windows 2000... but I'm worried even with the XP SP3 that it will reach end of life, stop getting security updates, the antivirus software becomes uneffective, and so all of our 55 machines including 4 2003 servers start crashing... I dont want to end up frantically having to updates all these machines in a weekend.. its just me...
Thank you guys!!!!

More about : death windows sp3

May 15, 2010 8:40:00 PM

pauldutcher said:
I am the IT of a non-profit( I'm a baby admin). I need to know what the date is MS will stop doling out secutiry updates for Windows XP SP3. I Have read serveral different reports on MS actual site. I Read one version stopped geting security updates last month, another that sp2 will go bye-bye in July... then if u look at the charts ect it says that MS only provides updates for 2y after that particular serice pack was released and finally that MS extended the security updates for SP3 until 2014...