Newbie here- build this or buy pre-built?

bensisco

Distinguished
Dec 11, 2007
Hi. I’m new to this board. I used to buy pre-built computers (Compusa, Gateway, etc.); however, I built the last two. My current computer is about three years old with a P4 3.4 Ghz processor, 1GB dual channel ram, 160GB Sata 1.5 HD, ATI9800AIW Pro video card.

I’ve been thinking about either building a new computer or buying something like a Dell (I can get an organizational discount and save quite a bit). However, I like the total customizability of doing it myself and I want excellent performance. I know Dell/Gateway used to take a lot of shortcuts and use a lot of proprietary, limited edition stuff.

After a three year break from researching parts, please advise on this set-up (if I build it myself); or should I try a Dell OptiPlex 755 (http://www.dell.com/content/products/features.aspx/optix_755?c=us&cs=04&l=en&s=bsd)?

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model

ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive 16MB cache

MSI NX8500GT-TD512EH GeForce 8500GT 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 Video Card

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit

LG 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe

APEVIA X-CRUISER-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W SLI Ready-ATX12V V2.01 Power Supply

SUPER TALENT INT-AIN1-C All-in-one USB 2.0 Card Reader

Plus 56Kbps PCI Modem, USB + PS/2 Wired Standard Digital Media Pro Keyboard, and 3 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Wired Optical Wheel Mouse.

Grand Total w/ Shipping: $863.66

I’ll probably add a digital TV tuner card as well for as much as $100 more. Also, I might add a 32" or 42" 1080p LCD HDTV for my monitor (but I need to do more research first). Thanks.

akhilles

Splendid