Repairing a damaged DIMM slot

I have a DIMM slot on an Asus motherboard that appears to be damaged. I think this was due to a rushed attempt to install some memory upside down (doh! I've been doing this for 10 years and this is the first time I damaged a mobo)... anyway, before plonking down the cash to buy a similar model on ebay, I was thinking I could try to tinker around with the slot to see if I can pull the pins back up (assuming that's what is wrong). Just looking for advice from anyone that has maybe tackled such a problem before. I've read elsewhere about people managing to fix damaged DIMM slots, but these were short on details. I have good experience putting PC's together, but I have never ventured into soldering and the like.

Thanks in advance...
7 answers Last reply
More about repairing damaged dimm slot
  1. Use microscope when you do that.
  2. How is that possible? Have you used sledgehammer and blindfold? :)

But I'd try to repait it, too if I was you... Let us know if you manage to. And take some pictures; I really wonder, how this mess looks like.