Pretty Tricky Stuff

G

Good Afternoon,

I'd like to take the time to thank tomshardware.com for all the advice I've received over the time. I've never posted a question of my own, but I surely did appreciate learning from all the threads here. I am a computer noob. I've been teaching myself Adobe and Autodesk software, I just bought a new desktop, and I'm trying to learn how to build one of my own. I know I'll probably sound stupid, but I hope I can get some education here.

With that being said, I have an HDD I would like to use or recover in any way I can. Here's the situation:

It was the internal HDD for a Sony Vaio FW Series laptop. It was the only HDD and therefore was the "master?" HDD. On the computer was 64 bit Vista. It is a 2.5" Hitachi 320gb 7200rpm SATA . I was frustrated with an ex girlfriend and punched the laptop, breaking it. Afterwards, I removed the HDD and installed it on my desktop, it spun up fine and entered Windows recovery mode.

This Link is for the stats on the Sony Vaio laptop.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834117938

What I would like to do is extract the data i.e. music, pictures, video, etc. from the HDD in the least expensive way possible.

I've been considering installing the HDD in my desktop but to do that I believe I'd need the recovery disc and I'd need to install Vista into my new desktop. I do have the recovery disc but I've been apprehensive about installing it. Once I have everything I want from the HDD I want to reinstall Windows 7 onto my desktop from the original HDD, and I want to be sure I wont mess up the desktop in the process.

This link is for the stats on the ZT Systems desktop.

http://www.sears.com/zt-affinity-new-amd-a6-3650-apu-desktop-pc/p-00325351000P

So at the end of the day, I'd like to remove the HDD containing Windows 7 from my desktop and install and recover Windows Vista with my old HDD. Then reverse the process, and not break my computer in the process.