Question About Water Cooling

jdave420

Distinguished
May 7, 2008
Hey i am very new to the whole water cooling scene. I was just wondering how i would go about adding a vga block? right now i have a switech H20-220 and all i am cooling is my cpu. Do i have to drain the system to add vga; if so how? i know some of this might be common knowledge but i just want to make sure.

phreejak

Distinguished
May 11, 2006
As far as kits I am assuming that you have the H20-220 Apex Ultra right? (MCP655 pump, Apogee GT CPU waterblock, etc...)

Yes, one of the most tedious aspects of altering any watercooling loop is draining it. Now, if you are careful (and depending on how you have yoru rad set up) you might can get away without having to COMPLETELY dismantle the loop (i.e removing the reservoir, rad, etc). BUt, you will have to make sure that the tubing in the loop is drained because you will have to alter the loop to add the GPU waterblock for your videocard.

It is up to you if you can do all this without removing ALL your hardware but, as this seems like you are new to watercooling, you might err on the side of safety here.

jdave420

Distinguished
May 7, 2008
ok thank you very much for your reply. I have to switech h20-220 compact (sorry for not specifying earlier). I will probably try to add to my loop by removing all of the components (like you advise). Thank you again

WestWarrior

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2007
What are your GPU and CPU? How far are both OCed? These are important, because depending on how much heat they are both producing, your setup might night be able to handle the load.

TonyL222

Distinguished
Dec 30, 2005
My method would be to first, un-secure the microres and remove it from the case. Then remove its filler plug and pour as much of the fluid out through the res as possible. If you plan to re-use the fluid then capture it in a clean container. You will have to tilt and lft your rig ina all directions to direct fluid in the tubes and blocks to the res.