Sign in with
Your question

Trouble installing Vista on my new build SATA help pls.

Last response: in Systems
December 14, 2007 1:13:04 AM

Well this is my first build and I got to the point of installing Vista with little problem. However I have come to a stopping point. When I get to the part in Vista installation where it asks you where you want to install, I choose my hard drive then after a few minutes it says it can not be installed without the drivers. The mother board manual says there should not be any driver problems unless I am trying to use RAID but all that is disabled BIOS. I can also see the hard drive in BIOS. Does anyone know what the problem could be? Here is my current system:

Track 1 GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Track 1 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250310AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Track 1 AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Black Edition Processor Model

Track 1 Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM

Track 1 Antec earthwatts EA500 ATX12V v2.0 500W Power Supply - Retail

Track 1 ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model DRW-2014L1T - Retail

Track 1 Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop M
December 14, 2007 1:34:42 AM

Yah set it to ahci in the raid options or ide mode one of the two. I can't remember I think it is ide mode.
December 14, 2007 1:50:22 AM

Thank you for the response. Specific as possible would help me greatly, Im really new at this.
Related resources
December 14, 2007 2:17:50 AM

Make sure it is set to IDE mode. Read your manual you may have plugged it into the wrong sata port. Some ports are for raid only.
December 14, 2007 2:24:03 AM

OK, if this were XP, I'd say it was the fact that you have a SATA optical drive and XP needs you to hit F6 during the install and load the SATA controller driver w/ a floppy.