Advice with OC'ing, please

funkinpye

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2008
Here are my specs:

1. Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

2. (2x) G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

3. GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard

4. Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

5. Microsoft Windows Vista 64-Bit Home Premium

6. 8800GTS 640MB SSC

7. Antec Earthwatts 500W PSU

I have no experience overclocking, could anyone give me advice on what settings to change based on these specs? I'd really appreciate the help.

iluvgillgill

Splendid
Jan 1, 2007
forget the 8800 GTS 640.get the 8800GTS 512 G92 or 9800GTX instead.they are like 10 times better in all area.but if money is your problem get the 9600GT and overclock it,it will amaze you what it can do for the money you spend!

funkinpye

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2008
I'm not sure people understood me when I made this thread, especially the person suggesting I get a new video card..

I don't know how to overclock. I don't know much about any of the settings in my bios related to overclocking. I read the overclocking guide for this motherboard, and while I get the idea, I don't have the experience or knowledge to confidently tamper with those settings.

What I am asking for is for someone to recommend specific settings I can change in my bios to overclock this rig safely. I can read the guides, and I have, but after hours of analyzing the possible results of changing any given setting, I actually feel more clueless than before...!