Sign in with
Your question

First attempt at overclocking (Q9450)

Last response: in Overclocking
May 25, 2008 1:32:47 AM

Hi, I have a question about overclocking a Q9450 (intel quad core @ 2.66ghz). I want to overclock this processor by only increasing the FSB and nothing else. Since the stock GHz on it is 2.66, what is a safe, stable MHz speed I can obtain on this processor without getting a new fan, or anything else.

My RAM, motherboard and power supply:

1000 watt power supply
nVidia 790i ultra SLI motherboard (supports 1600 FSB)
4GB Patriot EP+ Dual Channel DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz - 2 x 2048MB

Also, I watched a video on YouTube that you can overclock the FSB via the nVidia control panel (ntune?). Since this is my first time overclocking, I want to start out small and safe before touching voltage, or upping the FSB further than what the stock voltage can handle. Having said that, what is a safe and stable speed that my processor can handle, given the mobo/ram?
May 25, 2008 6:27:25 AM

Wow that PSU is overkill

That CPU runs fairly cool and I think you should be able to get at least 2.8 out of it before needing to up the voltage. Speed isn't what causes heat voltage does so just raise the FSB one step at a time checking for stability until it becomes unstable then back it down one.
May 25, 2008 8:54:09 AM

This may sound stupid, but how do I check for stability? And what constitutes stability and unstability? And how much is "one step at a time"? I'm planning on doing all this via the nVidia control panel, not BIOS (only increasing the FSB).

As for my PSU, it's to power dual 9800gx2s, however this processor might bottle neck them, so I want to overclock the processor.
Related resources
May 25, 2008 2:43:21 PM

The CPU your planning on has a 1333FSB which is 333 quad pumped. Just set it at 334, boot up, and run Orthos or Prime95 for a few hours. Total stability is when you can run a stress test for about 24hrs without issue.
May 26, 2008 7:14:14 PM