Sign in with
Your question

Asus P5E problem

Last response: in Motherboards
January 20, 2008 8:21:44 PM

Hello all.

Just today i rebuilt my computer with a new mother board. I used an Asus P5E board but i've ran into a problem. When I push the power button, the computer will look like it's going to boot .. i.e all the fans spin up and what not .. but then it just switches back off. It's done this every single time and I can't figure out for the life of me why this is.
I'm not a total expert at this and the situation has me a little confused and worried.

My specification is as follows just incase it would be any help to anyone so kind as to run through this problem with me:

Intel Core2 Duo 2.66ghz (I'm not sure what model that is)
2x1gig sticks of corsair ram running at 667mhz i think
Nvidia 8600gts
Asus P5E board.
Thermaltake tough power 700W power supply.

As i said, i'm very confused over all this and would appreciate some help.

Thank you for reading.

More about : asus p5e problem

January 20, 2008 8:23:56 PM

Have you hit the power button and let it do it's thing? Some P35s will double post when they first turn on.

Other than that start looking for a short or make sure everything is plugged in.
January 20, 2008 8:27:42 PM

Thank you for the reply.

I have indeed left the pc for a good long time and it just doesn't do anything else.

Also how would I go about checking to see if something has shorted out ?
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
January 20, 2008 9:17:15 PM

Nekospam said:
Thank you for the reply.

I have indeed left the pc for a good long time and it just doesn't do anything else.

Also how would I go about checking to see if something has shorted out ?