Sign in with
Your question

Help: Failed Drive in ICH9R RAID 1 System Disk

Last response: in Storage
November 13, 2008 1:11:41 PM

I have had a drive failure in a RAID1 array and need some step-by-step help to replace it. The motherboard is an ASUS P5E WS Pro with ICH9R Intel onboard controller. I have two questions: (1) How do I tell which drive is dead so that I can replace it? I am concerned that I might blow the good drive away if I do something wrong to diagnose them. (2) What is the process with the BIOS after CTL-I? When I go into the controller BIOS during boot there are only four choices: Create, Delete, Reset and Exit. I expect I need to Reset the dead drive but I have found no clear, step-by-step instructions and I am quite paranoid about blowing my system away totally (I've been having all sorts of problems for months which is why I just finished building this box, sigh.) I have some experience with LSI and 3Ware RAID5 and hot swapping drives but they have friendly interfaces.

And as long as I have your attention, what is the recommended way to get a restorable boot drive (system) image ... you know, in case all else fails?
November 13, 2008 10:53:44 PM

Well, after a good night's sleep I am thinking more clearly! I discovered that Intel Provides a Windows GUI monitor for their ACHx(R) drivers. I installed this package and it detected the failed drive even before installation completed. I have used it to mark the failed drive OK and attempt a rebuild (which is ongoing as we speak.) If it fails I should be able to add a new drive, build to the new drive, and then remove the bad drive afterwords ... I have two spares on the shelf. OTOH, it may well have been a glitch and everything may be fine!

I also located Acronis and expect I will be using that for an additional level of recovery.

I hope the next guy with this issue finds this thread and saves themselves some problems.
November 14, 2008 3:29:32 PM