Distinguished
Dec 24, 2007
I built this system about 2 years ago:

MB: nForce4 ATX Socket 939
CPU: Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1Ghz
Mem: Corsair 1GB 184 DDR SDRAM DDR 400
Vid: GeForce 7800 GT 256 MB PCI Express
PSU: 520W

Well, I want to play some of the newer games like CoD 4, but am unsure if this current rig will be able to run it well. I'm looking to upgrade to a dual core chip. But can I put in a AMD X2 4200 Socket 939 in this rig? Are you able to just pull the old CPU out and lock in the new one? Or are more steps needed?

My other idea is to also put in another gig of RAM. Would doing this be enough? Or should I do both, put in the new CPU and the RAM?

Lastly, should I just upgrade the video card? Or do all three?

As you can see, I'm a noob at this. I still am amazed I built the computer in one afternoon and haven't had a problem with it yet. So any help from you pros out there would be a real nice Christmas gift. Thanks.

wolfseeker2828

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2007
that GPU should actually be okay for COD4. It won't be perfect.

Definitely update the processor/RAM.

I'm afraid, though, that even with updating your processor, your graphics card will be bottlenecked.

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
I think people do make too big a deal about the bottleneck stuff. If you have a good video card and good amount of ram, you will be ok. Especially if you get an X2 chip, and remember, you can always overclock somewhat.

However if you are saying new video card, 1gb of ram, and new chip, I would say start looking at AM2 setups. 2gb of ddr2 ram can be had for under 50 bucks on newegg, a decent board to support all your old components also for 50. Then you should be able to find an AM2 chip for the same or less than the 4200. So it's your call there. The GPU, you probably won't play on the highest settings, but you should still have some life left in that baby.

Well, Newegg had a 4200 X2 for 69.99 but its not listed now. This is a better chip than you have for very cheap: