Quick Question to all the pros on this forum

Sparticus007

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2007
Hi, I am new to posting on this forum, and I hope the pros here can help me.
I decided to build a fast gaming rig, and while it is fine for gaming, it has trouble running Nero Vision, everytime I run it my system either freezes or reboots. I have narrowed the problem down to overheating (using the ASUS probe software) my idle temps are about 50C, and that was with a Zalman 9700. I have tried different cases to try to increase airflow into the case, but no matter what I do the system is running hot. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Case: Gigabyte Aurora 3D
Motherboard: ASUS Striker Exremem
CPU: Intel QX6850
RAM: 2X2GB Corsiar Dominator PC800
GPU: Twin BFG 8800GTS 640MB OC
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 1000W

seabreeze

Distinguished
Dec 22, 2007
I'm not a pro, but I'll give it a go (it rhymes!).

If it's heat and not the app, you could run a multitude of different apps to get the same result: freezing or rebooting.

Can you post the other temps that are reported by ASUS PC Probe? mb/chipsets.

I don't know about the idle temp of 50C on the QX6850, it seems a little high, but more concerned with peak temps.

Is the QX6850 overclocked? If so, better post those specs, including voltages.

If you are using ntune, what's the GPU temps at idle and full throttle?
They should be 60-65 idle and about 74-78 at full tilt, unless OCed and/or poor ventilation.

So more information might help assess the heat problem a bit better. If Nero Vision the culprit, sorry...

4745454b

Titan