thefumigator

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2005
Hello, my name is Amalfi Marini, I'm from Uruguay, South America (yes, land plenty of those geode laptop for kids who are around in our schools) I'm new at this forum but not new at computers, I work as a PC reseller/repairman technitian and networking, and I'm studing computer science in University. I also work in the video editing area.

Just to discuss about the most innovative stuff introduced on CPUs in the last decades...
Taking out "faster processor", to me two of the most innovative technologies were MMX by Intel, and 32 + 64bit brougt by AMD (despite 64 bit took most its advantage in the server/workstation arena).

Why do I take the "faster processor" out of the matter, maybe because I think -if I'm right- that making a faster processor is just the path that any CPU manufacturer has to take, or do you consider it as a type of innovation? Well, maybe "the way to make a processor faster" would be the innovation to me (Athlon XP at the time, Core 2 these days), but its not a new idea overall. So what do you think?

Sorry to take this to -maybe- a philosophical level... but wanted to know the opinion of different master minds that may be around.

thanks for the replies and have a good day.
Fumigator.

thefumigator

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2005
Looking around... I've been on many forums, this one is quite the biggest of them all... to much violence on the threads to my liking tho...

Offtopic: Got almost the same config as yours, but my 1950GT is AGP. also got an (Creative) EMU-0404 sound card. I make music in my free time...

righteous

Distinguished
Oct 25, 2006
I think rather than innovations, marketing tactic has played a larger role. Innovation has been rather stagnant in my opinion.

How many REAL innovations have there been in recent history? I think most of them have been covered already.
I think the biggest innovation is marketing and packaging.