How do i run windows xp and windows vista on one computer?

Hey guys, just curious here how i can run xp and vista on one computer i do have 2 hardrives but i am new to building computers. Any advice?
11 answers Last reply
More about windows windows vista computer
  1. Create two Partitions, at least 50gb for vista (it uses 15gb itself)
    You have to install XP first, and vista later.

Or two harddrives, but the same applies, XP first, Vista second.

(Unless you have both harddrives active, and choose to boot different drives through bios, but that's overkill)
  2. It's better to install XP on one HD, and Vista on other. When you install XP turn off second HD, and when you install Vista, turn off first HD. What you'll have to do, is to manage from BIOS which HD you want to boot first (one with Vista, or one with XP). Thats better then dual boot, because you don't have same root for vista and xp.
  3. There are several ways to switch operating systems:

1. Physically switch the disks
    2. Switch disks in the BIOS
    3. Use a software loader/switcher
    4. Virtualisation

1. Means you either use two bootable external disks, or a swappable caddy system.
    This is pretty foolproof as the systems are completely separate, but you can't share data between systems (unless you have a third data disk). It also requires you to buy some hardware.

2. Means you have to interrupt the boot sequence and fiddle in the bios each time you change OS.
    However, it means you don't need any extra hardware or software.
    One of your drives (say Vista) will be the preferred boot disk. This will be able to enable both drives when using that OS and hence access the data on the other drive. However, that would mean that you can't see the data on the Vista drive from XP.

3. There are several boot selectors, some of which are free. They give you the choice at startup time from a simple menu. There is one in Windows, but they OSs aren't completely separated (as stated above).