How to set up Velociraptor RAID 0 and Vista 64 on XP Home system?

Kadence

Distinguished
Feb 17, 2003
I have two 300GB Velociraptors, and I want to set them up in RAID 0. My motherboard is an Asus P5E Deluxe. I also want to install a fresh OS, Vista 64 - that will move my current XP Home files to the Windows.old folder, but keep all my other data.

Right now I'm booting from a 600GB external eSATA drive that has XP Home on it. I originally was using one of the Velociraptors, but I used Acronis True Image to clone that over to the external hard drive. But I'm a RAID newb, and I don't know how to set up RAID on the Velociraptors now.

I looked around in the BIOS setup, and there was something under Advanced setup about how to configure the SATA - currently it says IDE. I don't want to mess with that though until I know what I'm doing, as I also have a couple SATA DVD drives, and my eSATA HDD. And I didn't see how to set up only specific drives as RAID.

So what do I do to set up my system as RAID 0, and install Vista 64 on it? I was thinking of setting up the RAID 0, then cloning over my system from the external drive to the RAID array; and then setting up Vista on the RAID array. But I don't know how to set up the RAID initially, and I don't know if I'll then need more drivers or something when I install Vista.

bobmitch

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2002
Go into your bios and set SATA to "RAID" instead of IDE. Then reboot the machine and hit Ctrl-I and enter the RAID setup utility. Once in, name your array...include both disks set your stripe size (I use 64 kb with no problems....the board will recommend 128k)...save and exit. Proceed to install Vista and it will partition your drives into one...My total disk size is now 600 GB...and it is fast...

Also, go here: http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?strTypes=all&ProductID=2101&OSFullName=Windows+Vista*+64&lang=eng&strOSs=150&submit=Go%21