Sign in with
Your question

ran for a year and stopped today

Last response: in Motherboards
January 31, 2008 12:29:32 AM

This machine was one I built and I'm no expert on this kind of thing. It's been running fine for a year. Came in today and it was off (as were the other 3 machines). All machines restarted except this one, which, of course, is my main machine. MB is a 965P-S3, e6600 cpu, OCZ 800 dual channel.

What I see on the monitor is the Award Bios V6.00pc, then the Intel P965 for 965P-53 F6, then it tells the CPUID, some other ID, says MEMORY: and totally stops. No keyboard so I can't get to BIOS or anywhere (usually runs through KVM but I connected a PS2 keyboard directly, no change). My searching didn't find anything where it started to boot like this and then stopped.

I had two sets of OCZ Dual channel and one set was removed from the machine, so I swapped them out. No difference. Shorted the BIOS jumper (or thought I did -- I read some about problems doing that). No difference. I've read in the forums about using lower voltage memory to start (I seem to recall I had a memory stick I bought for this purpose when I build this machine, but recall for sure) so I tried some other memory I borrowed from one of our tech guys (don't even know if it was DDR2, but the number of pins matched the OCZ). No difference.

I don't know how to tell if I've got a MB problem or if it is some kind of memory problem.

Other guts: two 250 gig HD in RAID 1 (on SATA), a couple more SATA drives, SATA Plextor, couple of other audio cards.

One concern if I need a new motherboard is whether the RAID will plug in and work or whether I've got to reinstall and start over. I've got daily backups of data, so there's no problem there.

So... how do I know if I reset the bios or doesn't that matter since I can't get to it anyway? Because I've tried other memory I'm guessing the MB but don't want to go there until I'm sure.

Any suggestions?

More about : ran year stopped today