Sign in with
Your question

Please settle an argument - Asaka 460W good enough for a 8800GT ?

Last response: in Components
January 11, 2008 1:04:46 PM

Looking for some knowledgeable advice :) 

My setup..

Intel Core2 Duo E6400
Gigabyte 965P-DS3
4 X 1Gb DDR2 RAM
4 X SATA HDD
1 X DVDRW
4 X 120mm CASE FANS
1 X 4 port PCI USB Hub
2 X USB powered addons (mouse + wireless dongle)

I'm looking to buy an XFX 512mb 8800GT AlphaDog Extreme (OCed to 640MHz) card and need to know if my PSU - an Akasa (Enhance) 460W UQuiet model - will be good enough for this or will I need an upgrade?

There's a photo of the PSU specs label here > http://www.extremeoverclocking.com/reviews/cases/Akasa-460w-PSU_2.html

I posted on a different forum and the thread became an argument between two experienced members. One saying that my PSU is fine for a 8800GT and one saying it isn't as the current on the 12V would be too low (?).

Help!

:whistle: 
January 11, 2008 1:16:22 PM

Hmm im no professional but i delt with this topic before.... You should never get anything equal to what you think is ENOUGH power.. You will lose life from the PS and possibly not even enough power will hurt something prolong...... You should atleast get a 600 or more and why not get more??? If you plan to upgrade later in the future then the PS will be a problem... I suggest getting a higher output PS..... 4x120mm fans wow all that on a 460w not good man.... also a video card like this would require 80-130w alone....
January 11, 2008 1:16:55 PM

You only have 14A and 15A on your +12v1 and +12v2. That's pretty low... you may be cutting it pretty close.
January 11, 2008 1:53:29 PM

Thanks tgstyle but that just calculates Wattage. It's current I'm concerned about.
January 11, 2008 1:57:10 PM

Ok so here is a breakdown of what you have

460w max power
210w for 3v+5v
250w for 12v

dual 12v rails rated at 14a and 15a (doesnt tell you much really)

250w/12v = 20.8333a max on a single 12v rail.