Core 2 Quad Q6600 too hot!!!

imtomtoo0825

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Hello everyone...I'm in IT by profession but am horrible at cooling techniques, so I'm hoping a lot of people know more than me. I'll get right to it.....I recently built a new computer from scratch which I put a core 2 quad Q6600 2.4Ghz in. I got everything built up nice and did my first power on....after about 20 sec.s it would die!! one of the times it gave me enough time to get into BIOS and it reported the cpu climbing up over 200 F (I did not see c then). I then realized that the stock heat sink/fan was not tight down, I went to tighten it but one pin just would not stay down, I got it tight enough for the computer to stay on but knew this would not be good enough. I went to a Tiger Direct outlet store and bought a HUGE fan called Thermaltake Max Orb. This was a breeze to install and is as tight down on the cpu as can be (and no I did not forget to apply the thermal paste). It runs constant at around 2200 rpm's and has 6 heat pipes coming out. Now my cpu runs idle in the 50's and 60's (usually lower to mid 50's) and at load is in the 70's!!! After it's been at load it hovers around the high 50's or exactly 60c. I'm at a complete loss, I have a pefect installation of a very good fan and run no where near comfortable temps. People have looked at me crooked because they are running way cooler even with the stock fan!!! The only thing I can think of next to do is splurge on a liquid cooling system. If anyone has any ideas for me I'd greatly appreciate it.

mechstan

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2007
Either you installed the Heatsink improperly, your CPU is faulty, or your motherboard is faulty.

I recommend that you get a different CPU and try it with same motherboard and heatsink. If your CPU temp hovers around 30s, then obviously the old CPU is faulty. If it still hovers around 50 or 60s while idling, then get a new motherboard and try it with the old CPU and heatsink.