Sign in with
Your question

new sata drives not appearing in windows...

Last response: in Storage
December 11, 2008 11:29:15 PM

I just bought a used computer and wanted to add 2 new internal sata hard drive. I hooked them up and they show up in the device manager and in bios but wont show up anywhere else. I want them to be just normal hard drives like the c drive is. One hard drive is brand new and the other has information on it and i know it works. I'm fairly new to PC's and am completely lost right now. I'm stuck can anyone help me?

Thank you so much,
adam
December 12, 2008 1:27:39 AM

Disk management... they will need to be imported or drive letter/formatting
December 12, 2008 1:54:45 AM

hey, thanks for responding.

I have gone into disk management and although I can see my drives there they say they are only 128 gb when in fact they are 500gb. It will let them show up in windows but only as 128gb partitions. i want them to be at their full size. Also, I attached 2 other hard drives one was another blank one and it DID show up in windows and asked me if I wanted to format it. The other drive had information on it, but it wouldn't show up. I cant re format that one beacuse i need the information on it. How come sometimes it asks to format the drive and sometimes it doesn't with a fresh drive? And how come a drive that already has info on won't just "show up?"

All help appreciated...
Related resources
December 12, 2008 2:03:58 AM

thats a strange thing, usually new hard drives must be formatted in order for them to appear in windows. now in your case make sure that you are conecting the hard drive that have information as an Slave hard drive.
December 12, 2008 2:14:41 AM