First homebuilt system: advice on future-proof PC

Coren

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I'm going to put together a PC for the first time in February/March. I've done some research but I'm still a beginner so I'd appreciate any advice you can give me. One thing is especially important, though: my system should be as future-proof as possible (within financial limits :p). I bought my last PC pre-built, it had a socket A motherboard with an AGP port for graphics cards which went out of style only a few months after purchase, so I never was able to upgrade it. I'd like to avoid this kind of mistake this time. I know the evolutions in hardware can't always be predicted, but if you know of a certain technology that's coming soon and that will likely supplant the current standard quickly, please let me know here.

My PC will be used for pretty much everything: games, high definition media, work and general idling. I'd like to keep the price below 2000€, including the screen.

So here's a draft of what my PC might look like:
■Antec Performance One P182 Case ~140€: I've heard it's both handy and silent, the second point being the most important since I'll be watching movies on my PC. Bit expensive for my tastes, maybe, but if it's worth the price, why not...
■Corsair TX650W PSU ~115€: Maybe 650W is overkill? If it is, I'm also considering the Seasonic S12II-500 ~100€.
■Not sure about the motherboard. SLI doesn’t seem to be all that useful (Tri-SLI is just ridiculous) and DDR3 apparently isn't worth the price. If I had to choose, I'd probably go for DDR3 over SLI since it could become a new standard, but I'm not sure so that's why I'm asking you guys. SLI + DDR3 is apparently not yet an option, though I've heard they're working on it. Is it worth waiting for?
■Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66Ghz ~350€. I definitely want to jump on board with the Penryn generation. Especially since I'll also be doing video conversion and the new SSE4 should be useful.