Sign in with
Your question

Need helping choosing a graphics card

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 9, 2008 4:06:56 PM

I'm trying to find either a Nvidia Geforce 8800 (gt, gts, gtx) running on the new G92, but when I try to find one, nothing comes up with pci-e x16, only something called pci-e 2.0. What is the 2.0? My motherboard utilitizes a pci-e x16 slot. I've been building my own computers for the last 8 years, usually without a hitch. I just recently purchased everything but the video card for my most recent project. I usually wait till last for the video card, whereas they change so frequently. I would like an nvidia 8800 card that will allow me to run everything available maxxed out settings, and will still be decent even 3 years from now. My budget is really not much more then $350. Thank you for your time.
January 9, 2008 4:47:43 PM

PCI-E 2.0 is the latest standard for PCI-E .Basicly it offers more bandwith and is backwards compaitable with your PCI-E slot. If your budget is $350 I would try and find a 8800GT for around $250. And use the rest for cooling/games whatever. Believe it or not I was able to pick my 8800GT up at BB for $237 during the holidays. The 8800GTS 512 is not worth the extra $$$ over the 88GT. And again with the new 9800series, for the price right now, isn't justified for what real gains you will get, I'd say the 88GT is the sweet spot right now. Not only that they overclock well, my BFG went from 600/1800 to 700/2000. I plan on using this for 3 years as well.
January 9, 2008 5:10:04 PM

Thanks for your reply. I'm glad to hear that my new mobo will support this new style card. I will definitely take your advice and grab the 8800gt, nice OC btw. I plan to OC as well. With the extra cash I'll save, I'll look for cooling for the vid card. Thanks again!
Related resources
January 9, 2008 5:38:58 PM

yeah. get the 8800GT. it is wroth ur penny
January 9, 2008 9:20:03 PM

berzerkfrenzy said: