Sign in with
Your question

Which motherboard is suitable for gaming??

Last response: in Motherboards
February 4, 2008 4:07:25 PM

Hi. I want to build my computer that is the best one for gaming. I thought that maybe someone could help me choose between these three:
a) MSI K8MM3-V SOCKET 754
B) ASUS P5K-E
C) GIGABYTE GA-X38-DQ6 S775

Money is not the problem. The problem is which one. I am a beginner so I don't know mmuch which is the best.
a c 135 V Motherboard
a b 4 Gaming
February 4, 2008 4:25:32 PM

Not MSI. I've used Gigabyte on some recent builds and had no trouble. People around here also like Asus, but I haven't used one of theirs in years.
in any event, you certainly don't want socket 754. That's ancient.
February 4, 2008 4:32:17 PM

Asus and Gigabyte are really good. is up to you to decide which one is better for you. also the P35 is really good.
Related resources
February 4, 2008 4:58:40 PM

Look for a P35 based board. I've gone for MSI because it was cheap.
February 5, 2008 12:03:22 PM

I also thought that the MSI is a bit out dated. I was wondering to go for the the gigabyte but i am in doubt which is the best one between the Gigabyte and the ASUS. They are moreover the same I think but I don't know which is the best. Thanks for anyone who is replying and giving advice.
February 6, 2008 10:40:52 AM

The Striker would be total overkill since the OP calls himself a beginner and does not mention SLI, much less triple-SLI. And even if the price does not matter, he can still spend the € 150,- - 200,- he saves by taking a P35 instead for better RAM or CPU or 4-5 games.

Or for a nice evening with his girlfriend or two.
a b V Motherboard
February 6, 2008 11:30:02 AM

Go with the Asus if you don't need Crossfire. P35 is a good chipset.
Get the X38 if you want the latest and want Crossfire.
Socket 754 as has been said before is dead. There is no more development.
February 6, 2008 2:16:49 PM