Looking for a new PSU for rather hot operation

RodIshiCi

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2008
I'm currently looking for a new PSU as a foundation for my future upgrades.
So far, I only had those cheap sub$20 units and altough I've read a lot on the topic in the later months, I have no first-hand experience with good quality PSUs, so I'm trying to go the safe route and asking here, since there are a lot of good knowledgeable people.

My current rig is pretty unimpressive (Athlon XP + MX4400), but I plan to upgrade sometime (probably something along the lines of a Q6600 and 8800 GT), so I'm thinking about one between 500w-600w with good 12v capacity.
Other than that, my main concerns are:

24/7 operation: I usually keep my computer on all the time (but most of that time, it's only light load, such as torrent and im, since I'm at work half of the day).
Heat friendly: Here in Recife we have an average temperature of about 28ºC during the year, raising to around a 31ºC average during the summer. Since I don't have ac and usually the ceiling fan is off, my pc usually operates at a rather hot enviroment and my case is kept open all the time (or my pc overheats, since my case isn't any good either, altough that's the next planned upgrade after the PSU).
Not good power line: Specially during summer, here is prone to brownouts and blackouts. I probably will replace my UPS's long dead battery (an old 1kVA unit), thus diminishing the problems with it.

I had my quota of replacing PSUs (had one particular month with 3 replacements), also had some components capacitor problems (my now defunct FX5200 is with a fried cap and my old GA-7N400 Pro is back to the box with some stuffed caps, tough still works, I decided to not risk anything and bought a new mobo), so I'm in need of a PSU that's able to cope with all the above conditions and lasts long.