CPU overclock question !

seager

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2008
So I am new to overclocking but... every guide I read says to only increase your CPU when overclocking like 25mhz at a time, soo I am wondering what is the point of this?

What if I just put the FSB on my q6600 @ 2.4ghz up to 1333 to make it 3ghz ? what would the difference be from just doing that then raising the fsb from 1066 up 25mhz everytime?

example: 1066,1075,1100,1125...etc

Also when I overclock should I move the voltage at the start or not touch the voltage until its needed ? hence cpu voltage on my board is like 1.3 or something but I see alot of people moving the voltage up to 1.4 when they overclock... wasnt sure if since I already knew around the area of other peoples specs with the same hardware if I could just plug in there numbers and tweak from there. Thanks for any insight!

SPECS: nforce 750i, q6600 2.4ghz, gskill ddr2 1066 4gb, x2 8800gts sli

sailer

Splendid
Many of the guides were written years ago, when 25mhz was a fair sized jump. Further, 25mhz doesn't always work out with the various multiplier, etc. The next step up might be 35mhz, for example. I now check on the overclocks that people are getting on a similar setup as mine, if such are available, and then start about 200mhz under theirs and work up.