Is a raid set up good for me? Gaming PC Asus p6t i7.

I'm building a new PC for the first time. It's gonna be:

antec 1200
EVGA x58 Motherboard
i7 920
corsair 3 x 2 GB ddr3 triple channel
2 x EVGA 260+ in SLI
still looking for PSU
1 DVD reader/writer

I was gonna put two drives on the machine 1 300GB velociraptor 10,000 for the OS and other applications and games and 1 or 2 500 GB 7200 for data.

The more I read about setting this up, the more I hear about raid. I'm new to it. I'm looking for good performance AND a reliable Hard drive set up.

Should I

1. Just use the 10,000 speed drive by itself and have 1 or 2 other drives for data in a normal set up
2. Set all 2 (or 3) drives in a raid set up
3. If it's possible use 10,000 speed drive for OS and apps and set the other 2 drives up in raid 1

Thanks for any info
9 answers Last reply
More about raid good gaming asus
  1. Good performance would be RAID-0 but reliable it is not.

Possibly you could look at RAID-5 with 3 drives this will provide performance and more reliability than RAID-0.

Dont discount SSD's if you have the cash as well
  2. I would never set up dissimilar drives in a RAID. You'll lose the benefit of the high speed 10k drive because it would be waiting on the others. In your case, I would use the single 10krpm drive as os and apps, and then just add other volumes as needed for storage. If you want, you could have a pair of storage drives in RAID 0, but I don't really see a huge benefit.
  3. Thanks for the info. I think I'll do just that. It seems the easiest setup to get speed. Then I'll just back up data to external or 2nd HDD.
  4. So can you have the velociraptor do the OS and set up the other two drives in raid to get redundancy on data?