Sign in with
Your question

Is fps really noticable - radeon 3870 at 1680x1050?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 10, 2008 11:40:48 AM

Hi. I know for sure that the 8800gt 512mb performs better than the radeon 3780 512mb. But what isnt really discussed is that at what resolutions is it really that good? I will have an lcd with a max resolution of 1680x1050. I plan to play games like COD2,3,4 etc, and also newer RTS games (wont bother about Crysis, have plenty others to catch up on :p ). But, at the above mentioned resolutions, wont the radeon be as good with high settings?
Lets say for arguments sake, that with the radeon 3780 one I can get about 45fps (with all high settings) by playing cod4 at 1680x1050. With the 8800gt, its about lets say 55fps. Is the difference of 10fps that big? OR, what is the minimum fps needed for a game to run smooth? thanks, would like to hear your opinions/comments

CORRECTED -> radeon 3870
January 10, 2008 3:47:12 PM

I'm no expert but supposedly your eye can't see anything over 30fps. So whats counts is how many fps you get when there is a bunch of stuff going on like big explosions or tons of enemies. The 8800gt is less likely to drop below 30fps than the 3870 and therefore you're less likely to notice the slowdown that occurs.
January 10, 2008 4:15:46 PM

I would get the 8800 just for that extra oomph. It's true that we can't see more than 30fps, but what we do notice is the lack of blur. The more FPS, the more "natural" blur and thus a more fluid look. With 30fps you don't get as much blur, so even though you can't see a difference frames-wise, it still won't look as natural as, say, 60fps.

TVs routinely display at 30fps because the images are already blurred when captured on tape, so that's why it looks so smooth. Some games, such as Crysis, will synthetically add blur.
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
January 10, 2008 4:22:35 PM