Sign in with
Your question

Why do I need more than one 12V rail?

Tags:
  • Power Supplies
  • Components
Last response: in Components
January 16, 2008 4:23:21 AM

What's wrong with a PSU with one really powerful 12V rail?

I'm new to PSUs and doing some shopping. Planning to upgrade from my current 430w to the 600w minimum that my ASUS Crosshair mobo says I should have.

The 12V rail that I need, according to the mobo, has certain specifications. It's to plug into the 8-pin slot on the mobo, to power the dual-core cpu. So if that's what it's for, why would I need more than one rail?

Multiple 12V rail systems are for...what hardware?

More about : 12v rail

January 16, 2008 4:43:15 AM

Another GC...
January 16, 2008 4:49:34 AM

aziraphale said:
Another GC...

Do you mean two total? Not sure what you mean. Maybe since my current card is old, I don't get it - GeForce 6600. It has nothing you plug into. I've read that new ones require a 6-pin plug? Are you saying that aside from the mobo 8-pin connector which is for the CPU, graphics cards also take 12v rails?

It's the last thing I'm going to upgrade on this system.
Related resources
January 16, 2008 5:12:58 AM

There's nothing wrong with a PSU with a single 12V rail, in fact that couldn't be further from the truth. A single 12V rail is the best configuration.
January 16, 2008 5:28:28 AM

That's what I've always wondered about. Almost all the medium to high end PSU's have multiple rails, but I've heard that they're really just one rail from an engineering standpoint, that they are split into extra rails for the purpose of ensuring that no single rail gets over 20 amps.

In a review of a single rail Silverstone, Anandtech writes:

Quote: