Sign in with
Your question

Yet another build... around $800 to spend

Last response: in Systems
January 5, 2008 6:14:04 PM

As you guessed, another one of those "Is this a good system for $xxx?" So here we go...

This is my first time building a PC. I know some info about them, mostly from reading and installing a few things here and there, but I don't know specifics. I've had some help building what I have now from fellow forum members on another forum, they seem to know their stuff. But the more heads the better, so I've decided to expand.

I will be using this PC mostly for games (COD4 and BF2 come to mind for now) and watching movies, with some encoding/packing here and there. Also, since I'm an engineering student, it will need to run some CAD programs with ease. I just picked up an 22" Acer widescreen (native resolution 1680x1050), and would like to run everything at that resolution. I will be getting my scholarship money on the 16th of this month, so everything will be purchased after that date. Here is what I've come up with...

-COOLER MASTER Centurion 534 RC-534-KKN2-GP Black Aluminum & Mesh bezel / SECC Chassis ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail - $39.99 @ newegg
-Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L ATX LGA775 P35 1333FSB 1PCI-E16 3PCI-E1 3PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN Motherboard - $89.68 @ NCIXUS
-EVGA GEFORCE 8800GT 600MHZ 512MB 1.8GHZ DDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDTV Out Video Card - $232.46 @ NCIXUS
-Thermaltake Purepower W0100RU ATX 12V 2.0 500W Power Supply - Retail - $59.99 @ newegg
-Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80557E6750 - Retail - $189.99 @ newegg
-OCZ Platinum 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Micron D7 Chip Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ2N10662GK - Retail - $109.99 @ newegg ($91.99 after MIR)
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM - $69.99 @ newegg

Total = $792.09 + shipping (before MIR)