Building my first PC. Need help.

jgame

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2008
Just signed up for the forums, so I guess I'll say whats up to everyone on here and I hope you all had a good Holiday.

Anyways, I need some help/suggestions. I want to build a computer from the ground up and I've never done this before. I've always wanted to, but I've always gone with pre-builts. So with that said, I will be purchasing most if not all components from newegg.com. I just need help or suggestions in my new build. I don't really have any parts picked out, but I have a general idea of what I want. I'll give you guys some info so you know what I'm trying to build, and what I would need to do so.

First off, my budget is a max of $1,750

What I will be using my PC for:

Gaming- Lastest and future releases for RTS games, MMORPG (Warhammer Online), and FPS (don't really need to play Crysis on max with full settings) I'm not into too many FPS games on PC, I stick with consoles for that...

Internet- Surfing, email, downloading, uploading.

Software/Apps- Photo and video editing/capturing, music, and Microsoft Office.

Operating System- Vista Home Premium (32-bit).

I"ll be getting a 22" LCD Monitor and I have a keyboard and mouse. I would also like my new PC to be somewhat future proof (around 2-3 years before I have to upgrade), and have some expandablity. I do know that I want a Core 2 Duo Proccessor or one of those quad-cores. Any help, suggestions, advice would be greatly appreciated and I hope I offered you guys enough information. I really look forward to building my first PC and I want to make sure it's everything I want it to be. Thanx in advance.

neiljung

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2007
Is your budget an "I'm spending the max" or "I'd rather not spend the max if I can still get a good pc for much less money" type of budget?

You could get an E2180 with a P35 board and two gig of dual channel ram for well under $300, and that's buying the not too shabby stuff.