Sign in with
Your question

BIOS random shut down

Last response: in Systems
January 6, 2008 2:00:22 AM

I have an ASUS P5W motherboard, a Galaxy 8800GT 512MB GPU, and an Intel Quad Core CPU. I just built my computer today. Everything turned on fine, the LEDs turned on and the fans spun. But when I try to get into the BIOS it gives me a CMOS checksum error, so I took out the mobo battery to reset it. I still get the error every time, and occasionally I'll get a CPU overvoltage error, and I haven't done any overclocking. I can get into the BIOS anywhere from 10 seconds to a minute, but then my whole system will shut down. What is going on?!

Also I don't know if it is recognizing my HD and CD drive. I have the HD plugged into a SATA1 port and the disk drive into a SATA3 port. Is this right? If it is, why isn't my computer loading Vista from the disk drive (Home Premium 64-bit)?

Thanks in advance for the help...this is my first build, and I'm already starting to get frustrated.

edit: I also hear one beep from the mobo speaker when it turns on.

More about : bios random shut

January 6, 2008 11:29:22 AM

List your full specs.

If the bios isn't corrupt & the cpu is supported, it might be the ram. Try each stick in each of the slots.
January 6, 2008 12:24:48 PM

Each and everytime I turn on my computer at BIOS screen it always say Checksum... then boots to Windows. I think its your Ram voltage that might be low, check your default Ram speed and voltage.
Related resources
a c 122 B Homebuilt system
January 6, 2008 12:34:10 PM

One short beep means that it passed the POST (POwerup Self Test). That means the BIOS did not detect any problems. That doesn't mean that there aren't any problems. It just means that the BIOS did not detect any.

The BIOS has two options for the POST - short and long. The default is usually the short test. Go into the BIOS and change the option to "Long" or whatever ASUS calls it. Among other things, that will do a more extensive memory test.