MustPlayMore

Distinguished
Jun 23, 2008
I Just got ATItools to test out my 8800gt, and when i click scan for artifacts it tells me "the video card you selected for over clocking in ATItool does not seem to be used by windows. Visual testing has been disabled. To fix this, go to Display Properties, Settings and enable the moniter output of the card." Problem is, i can't find this in my settings anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated, this is my first build, and I can't wait to see what it can really do :na:

AMD X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9ghz, 500watt ocz psu, 2gb 667mhz samsung dd2, MSI 8800gt, Vista 32bit.

V3NOM

Distinguished
Jun 18, 2008
Well, i'm glad you're using ATItool instead of rivatuner, which everyone seems to be raving about....but which offers no real time stability testing!! for OC'ing graphics cards, atitool FTW dude :D. Only reason i can think of at the moment as to why that isnt working is if you have multiple monitors!! From what you've said, you're confused as to where "display Properties: is? All you gotta do is right click on your desktop, then select "Properties" from the bottom of that right click menu, then go to the last Tab "Settings" where it will say your monitor and your graphics card.

Also, did you get any aftermarket coolers? IMO the 8800GT is the BEST price/performance card you could get right now, but some factory overclocked chips with poor HSF's on them (thats heat sink & fan for newbies :p) will not overclock as well as others.... i'll look up that MSI for ya and see what it can do....

in fact, i have an old AGP 7600GS that i overclocked 50% on its stock cooler!! hovers around 45 idle and 60 max under load.

Also post the current idle and load temps for your 88GT and any case fans thanks.

ill edit quickly.
V3NOM