How to test for stablity with Prime95

I just ran Prime95 on my 64x2 AMD 5000 Black Edition for the first time and got these test results:

Self-test 2560K passed!
Starting P-1 factoring with B1=715000, B2=715000
Chance of finding a factor is an estimated 3.22%
P-1 on M42773741 with B1=715000, B2=715000
Using FFT length 2560K

Is this a good test result? Does this mean I am stable at 3.1 GHz? I have never used Prime95 before so I don't know what to make of these results.

I had my Black Edition clocked 3.1GHz before however it kept crashing on me every 2 hours. So this time I bumped the voltage up from 1.30V to 1.35V and it seems to be handling better now.

Can anyone on the forum give me advice on this?

Below are my specs. I currently have the multiplier set at 15.5X
7 answers Last reply
More about test stablity prime95
  1. Sure, you first make sure you have Round Off checking under the advanced tab checked!

That way it stops with an error.

Then you make sure you use the Small ffts torture test to check the stability of the processor.

Using large ffts is useless.

Small for CPU, make sure it runs on all cores!!

Blend test for the RAM stability checks.

8 hours Prime stable fully loaded on small ffts test is acceptable as "stable!" Some people go for more...

--Lupi
  2. Thanks for the reply. That is some very useful information.

I was watching my processor thru CPU-Z while the test was going on and I noticed that the voltage of the CPU would jump up to 1.368V, however I have it set in the bios to 1.350V. Why is it pulling in more voltage than what I have it set to? Is this normal or is this harmful to the processor? Do I need to bump the voltage up to 1.375?
  3. Hmmm, that is odd, but not a bad thing, per see. As a matter of fact, it could be quite useful, because Normally you Idle higher than you load up.

meaning, you idle waaaay higher than it needs for using 5% of the processor just to watch a movie.