Help troubleshooting nForce 650i installation

velox

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2008
Okay, so I'm completely new to building computers. That being said, I've had some experience in the past updating video cards and RAM and such. So, I bought an entirely new set up (case, mobo, etc.). The motherboard is an NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI, in an Antec Sonata 3 case, with an intel dual core 2.66 gHz processor. I also got a hard drive (SATA 3 gb/s), CD/DVD burner, 2 x 1G DIMM2, nvidia graphics card, etc. I installed everything, plugged it in, and (not too surprisingly) it wouldn't boot. The fans spin, both on the heatsink and on the back panel of the case. Of the only two lights I've seen on the mobo, at the top of the mobo there is a green one, and on the left side is a yellow one (yellow means the board has successfully charged). There is one very long beep when it fails to start up. I've tried looking up troubleshooting info, but I haven't found any that relates to just one long beep.

So, any suggestions on what might be going wrong? It would really help if someone has had this problem before. And no, i didn't rub my feet on the carpet and then touch my processor in that special way. And yes, I used the paste stuff between the heatsink and the processor. And if you don't know what's wrong, what would you do?

MasteR+PinE

Distinguished
Jan 1, 2008
Gday, well done on building yourself, there's a great feeling of satisfaction once it's running.

Couple of things could be going on...

1) Graphics card isn't seated properly. Make sure it's fully pushed in, level and tightly screwed in. Also make sure secondary power is connected.
2) Additional motherboard power connector. Remember that motherboards require a second 4/6/8 pin power connector. Pretty easy to forget if your rushing/new to building PC's.