Packham

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008
Ok im a total noob so hopefully that will save folk trying to make me look worse than I already feel.

I have recently moved from AGP to my Asus 7900GTX and its all new to me.

On insterting and powering it up I discovered I have a cable that plugs in the back end of the card (Tower face end) with 2 female power sockets coming off it.

I have plugged 1 cable into it and it seems to work, but because im hot getting very much performance out of the card I thought it may need 2 power cables pluggin into it. On doing this, the PC trips off so I have unplugged it again.

Can anyone tell me what this is for as I've been on website after website and cant find an answer. Even the manual I got with the card only explains driver instalation.

Your help / advice would be greatly appreciate.

Many Thanks

Packham

krillz

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
Basically it's just the fact that the newer and more powerfull video cards need more power, the power it gets from the PCI-E slot is not enough and therefore you need to apply extra power to it, that's what those sockets are for on the card.

With your computer tripping out, well we can begin with the question. Is your PSU strong enough to power the card while playing or doing some other tasks that makes the card consume more power.

Packham

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2008
Hi Krillz, Thanks for the quick responce.

Ive got a 520W power supply on atm. With the 2 sockets being female i was assuming i was causing an electrical problem inside but now you mention this maybe that isnt the case?

So your saying that i really should have both power cables plugged into the power supply?

krillz

Distinguished
Jan 2, 2008
Yes a GTX need two power connectors, however on my brothers 8800 GTX it said in the manual to never plug in the power using a Y conector to plug it in to the card, was printed in bold even so I guess that's pretty important.
You need to use two seperate connections from your PSU.