Tom's Hardware > Forum > Graphic & Displays > Nvidia > 2 Nvidia 9600GT on ebay what is going on?

2 Nvidia 9600GT on ebay what is going on?

Forum Graphic & Displays : Nvidia - 2 Nvidia 9600GT on ebay what is going on?

Tom's Hardware: Over 1.4 million members in 6 different countries available to answer all your high-tech questions. Sign up now! Its free!
Word :    Username :           
 

Hi there, my friend just sent me the url where you can buy 2 Nvidia 9600GT 256MB G94 cards that are not yet out on the market.

Quite funny actually, either this is a spoof to rip some people on money or it's stolen merchandise.
What do you think?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.d [...] osi_widget

I wonder for how long it will be up on ebay before they take it down?

Sponsored Links
Register or log in to remove.

They are legit. There was a guy at hardforum with proof.

http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1262975

------------------------------ Asus P5B vanilla with E6300 B2 stepping @ 3.5
4 gigs Gskill
8800GTS 756/1836/1037
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/ [...] ew-benches
Reply to marvelous211
- 0 +

Hehe, then I guess it's a pair that were given for testing purposes or something that the dude later sold.

thanks for the link marvelous :D

Reply to krillz

I completely and highly doubt they are legit. First off the 9600 will not be a G94... it's going to be a G92 that has been scaled down. I doubt they would be apearing on e-bay too... Companies dont just give these cards out to anyone to be tested and then allow them to be sold on e-bay... if that were the case than those companies wouldnt be "giving" those people cards to test.

Come on Nvidia has more sense than that!

Reply to hughyhunter
- 0 +

I and my friend were speculating on how they can fool people, let say I take a 8800GT card just put on that cooling case to make it look 9xxx series.

And I don't think if you have the knowledge to do so, to change it to display let say 9600GT when put into the system is that hard, or am I wrong?

Reply to krillz

If you read the guys post, it is the same guy who posted it here. Different username, but he posted the exact same stuff. I do not think this guy is legit gents.

------------------------------ http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/tsdirtyharry.png
Reply to Dirty_Harry2

This topic has already been discussed on the forums, with much debate. Two threads were locked, and I got points. :(

I recommend letting it go.

Reply to rallyimprezive
- 0 +

eeeh, same guy? Don't get you there?

Personally I don't think it's legit, and if they are real 9600GT cards they're probably stolen.

Reply to krillz

Different dude than the first, at least he has some clearer photos (http://forums.tweaktown.com/showthread.php?p=246976#post246976) and a feedback of 7 on eBay! Still no shots of the gpu.

How long until this thread gets locked?

------------------------------ Take what man makes and use it,
But do not worship it,
For it shall pass.
Reply to badgtx1969

badgtx1969 wrote :

Different dude than the first, at least he has some clearer photos (http://forums.tweaktown.com/showthread.php?p=246976#post246976) and a feedback of 7 on eBay! Still no shots of the gpu.



Person #1: (blurry pics)

sn: Xazax
ebay sn: Marine187


Person#2: (clear pics)

sn: xaglx
ebay sn: space marine41

coincidences? twins seperated at birth?

Reply to turboflame
- 0 +

turboflame wrote :

Person #1: (blurry pics)

 

sn: Xazax
ebay sn: Marine187

 


Person#2: (clear pics)

 

sn: xaglx
ebay sn: space marine41

 

coincidences? twins seperated at birth?

 

Well than it's settled then, marine41 is propably flashing bios, putting on a different case on the cards and "mass" selling it on ebay, cheating people on money.

 

That sucks, hopefully he will get caught and given a huge fine for false marketing, and marketing under someone else's trademark without permission.


Message edited by krillz on 01-16-2008 at 12:19:35 AM
Reply to krillz

Read the thread guys. The guy who he supposedly bought it from is a reporter of some sort and got those cards as samples supposedly.

I don't think the guy is trying to scam anyone. Only a idiot would want to do that on ebay and think they are not going to get caught.

------------------------------ Asus P5B vanilla with E6300 B2 stepping @ 3.5
4 gigs Gskill
8800GTS 756/1836/1037
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/ [...] ew-benches
Reply to marvelous211

Yes, im mass scammer out to get you all!
I have no idea who the moron of TT is and his name is not mine, if you look on my HEAT
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=61405

i have 2 pos evals along with all my ALIAS on different forums, i go only and solely by Xazax or Xazax310, this guy whoever he is has zero relations to me and i just found out about "him" today when musing through my threads

this is now going way over my head and THG is the worst people i have ever seen about it, ive been posting here for 2 years now and never have i seen in any other forums such rude remarks as on THG.

Hmm did you guys ever stop to think to ACUTALLY contact me? maybe a PM or my AIM because maybe im a real person, guess not.

Just so you know
the cards are "MAGICALLY STOLEN" because you know i broke into Nvidia's supersecret factory ;) and stole a couple of 9600GT cuz im kool like that, i saw the 9800GX2 but i was like thats so lame, i thought about Flashing a 8800GT bios to that of a 9600GT and then changing the cooler and well as the angle of the 8800GT to match the 9600GT to con people into believing me but i figured that required to much work and im lazy. :kaola:


Message edited by Xazax310 on 01-16-2008 at 12:54:02 AM
Reply to Xazax310


marvelous211 wrote :

Only a idiot would want to do that on ebay and think they are not going to get caught.



Right, 'cause no one has ever been scammed on ebay!

Reply to carver_g

I did say we needed faith in people and not bash Xazax310...

It seems as if we're getting more evidence. The best way is to contact Nvidia directly.

------------------------------ "Nvidia, the Way It's Meant to be PAID Played! - Corrado
*Lesbian Lover Club* - founder Assman
Reply to Evilonigiri

Those ones are not true. Its a 8600 with a small BIOS mod. Xazax tried selling them before.... lol.

------------------------------ http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2617/3815217176_0a5be7955d_o.gif
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3553/3818083596_1a772f7162_o.gif
Reply to Shadow703793

what are you talking about Shadow? how can a 8600GT even remotely look like a 8800GT the PCBs are different

Reply to Xazax310

honestly, if he is selling the cards and they are legit, shouldn't there be some kind of BIOS cd with them, even if he got them off craigslist, the guy who sold it there should have sold them with BIOS cd if they were originally from nV, i mean, already selling the product illegally, whats the difference if you include the illegal BIOS cd with it? probably just a guy with know how on how to modify the circuitry on a PCB, to change the way the card is read...

------------------------------ all i want to do is bleed blue, but since that wont happen ill be playing video games till i die
Reply to bstep1989

Well it looks like the guy from pcperspective bought the cards from the ebay auction (one of them at least) so we will see real soon if they are legit are not.

------------------------------ "When people agree with me, I always think that I am wrong" Oscar Wilde
Reply to echofoxtrot

Unless they can provide a legit GPU-Z validation and some better pictures I won't believe it. Even then I'm not sure if I would believe it.

Reply to Gravemind123

Well another one of these to lock.

Personally I don't really care much, they're weak cards and not ground breaking like even a GX2 / X2 would be. It's a replacement for the GF8600 so M'eh.

I'm sure Ryan from PcPer will give people more insight.

But seriously Xazax, don't be surprised by skepticism when you claim to have an unreleased graphics card(s) and then provide blurry pics as proof of a Yeti.
If it's a digital camera, it only takes about 10 shots (try with/without flash even) to get 1 that isn't blurry so people can see distinguishable marking, unless the whole point is to be indistinguishable.

Anywhoo, no point in stirring the pot, but these threads get locked, especially if they contain links to e-Bay.

------------------------------ You need a license to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp (or internet account) - RED GREEN. GA to SK
HD Freedom: 45 5F E1 04 22 CA 29 C4 93 3F 95 05 2B 79 2A B2

Reply to TheGreatGrapeApe
Tom's Hardware > Forum > Graphic & Displays > Nvidia > 2 Nvidia 9600GT on ebay what is going on?
Go to:

There are 728 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

Please mind

You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months.
If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.

Add a reply Cancel
Sponsored links
  • Ask the community now
  • Publish
Ad
They won a badge
Join us in greeting them