Small Form Factor Case

Davefroti

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2008
Hello, I'm new to the Tom's forums. I have been checking out a new system based on SFF cases. But I'm having quite a bit of problems choosing the right one. I'm hoping people here might have some insight on wich offers the most cooling and aftermarket Cpu Cooler option.

currently I checked out
the Apevia Q-Xpack2
Thermaltake Lanbox
Sivlerstone sg03 (just saw a preview of the sg04 not sure what's new inside)
Qmicra v2 ( 319$ is quite expensive but seems to be the best )
NZXT Rogue ( keeps hearing About how hard the installation can be)
Lian-li V350

Checked out quite a few reviews but none seem to tackle the aftermarket Cpu cooler issues or even the possible modifications that can be done to accomedate one?

I will be overclocking the system but only with the Ai options from Asus nothing to fancy

Mobo: Asus p5e-vm-hdmi
Vid card : bfg 8800gt + Zalman Vf1000 led
Ram: 4 gigs of pc 8500 Corsair XMS
Hdd : Seagate 500gb sata 2 16mb cache
Sound Card : most likely a version of X-fi
Cpu : new line of 45nm quad cores
DVD : 2x LG DVDrs
CPU cooler : undecided

Any info would be greatly appreciated

Dave

KyleSTL

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2007
Personally I like Lian Li for aestetic and aluminum reasons. I'm also a fan of Silverstone designs. I think all the other ones look cheap and plastic-y.

nachowarrior

Distinguished
May 28, 2007
apevia x-qpack 2... make sure you get the 2, not the first one. anyway, I didn't buy one, but i did mess with one down at the local pc shop, they're pretty sweet looking, and have 2 5.25 bays and i think it'll still fit that card... if the local pc shop didn't suck balls i'd bust out a massive video card and check to see if that'd fit for you today, but they don't carry anything good... let alone let me touch it. haha. I dunno, 100 bucks and a pretty hardcore psu all in one for 100 bucks... it's a sweet deal. well, the best one i could find when i was looking for sff cases. :p

h2oman