Some questions after building everything.

Khayman7

Distinguished
Dec 28, 2007
I'm pretty new at system building. My experience is limited to watching and learning as a buddy put together my last system about 8 years ago and then doing a couple of hardware upgrades over the years. So I have a couple of questions. On a positive note I got everything to boot with no problems on the second attempt (missed a power connection hiding under that monster of a mini heatsink). So I consider that a small victory.

1.) Some of the fans have 3 pin connectors that don't reach the board connections. They do however have regular power conncetions also like ata harddrives. They also have a fan connector that only has 1 yellow wire on it. Should I attach this to the motherboard where the fan connectors are supposed to go? What is this part for, monitoring, speed control? This is kind of important because those Scythe 120s are pretty loud but move a ton of air. I would like to slow them down to reduce the noise since I doubt I need that much cooling right now. On that note...

2.) How is my airflow situation. The case is a Cooler Master Stacker 820. Sata Cables and wrapped power supply calbes tucked away if not in use. I have a 120mm on front and top bringing air in. There is a 120mm on the side and rear moving air out. The power supply has a 120mm fan directly over the Scythe Ninja Mini heatsink. Should I flip the powersupply over? Finally I had to go with the 80mm fan on the Ninja Mini due to space considerations, blowing through the heatsink. I ended up not using a 92mm one at all yet but was originally planning on putting it on the heatsink instead of the 80mm.

3.) I know things are differant for everyone but what ballpark temp should my processor cores be at with this setup so far? Processor cores were at 33-32 degrees while installing Windows XP etc... I didn't get to test much else and won't OC until I get some baseline readings.