Gonna attemt to build a pc for my parents- first timer

columbus

Distinguished
Sep 28, 2004
Hello-I have zero experience with building computers, but I'd like to build a solid computer for my parents. I'm familiar with the various components I need, but I don't really know where to start with which brands. etc. to buy.

The only thing that my Dad told me he wanted the computer to do is use Musicmatch Jukebox, but I'm sure they also want smooth internet, email, and word processing- the simple stuff. In short, they want a smooth computer-not the slow experience of the dell dimension 8250 that they currently use.

So does anyone have any advice or sites they could direct me to so I could find out where to start?

apence

Distinguished
May 19, 2007
I like to look at the reviews on newegg. The star rating does not always mean much, but reading the reviews can give you a quick idea if you want to buy an item or not. For an inexpensive home email, music, and internet system, I would go with an AMD X2 system with integrated nvidia or AMD graphics. The new Pentiums would also be good, like the E2200. They are about the same price as AMD, but you can save a lot on the motherboard with the AMD. You can get a nice integrated graphics AM2 board for around $60. The Intel boards with similar features and a current chipset will be more than $100.

I got a Gigabyte AM2 Motherboard recently, and I am very satisfied. I have also used MSI a lot in the past. They are very reliable and stable as well. However, MSI does not seem to allow for overclocking on their MATX boards anymore.

G

^^^

What he said, then get 2x1GB of DDR2-800 ram, its on newegg for under $50 these days.

Throw in a hard drive and dvd drive, add a case and a GOOD 400-500 watt PSU and you'll be set.

I would suggest getting the Antec Earthwatts 450W psu.

orangegator

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2007